About Me

I grew up in the beautiful foothills of California’s Northern Central Valley.  I come from a line of German wheat farmers who settled in Oklahoma, but growing up in the countryside of California, I was mostly removed from those roots.  As a young girl I never did like getting dirty or sweaty and the occasionally enforced chore of picking star thistle in the yard was not my idea of a good way to spend summer break. Neither did I care for the domestic duties of cooking or taking care of a house, feeling that these were somehow not valuable pursuits. What I did enjoy was reading classic novels, watching British comedies and dramas, contemplating art and doing elaborate puzzles.

While I still enjoy the reading, art and quality entertainment, my perspective has changed dramatically in regard to dirt, sweat, cooking and care-taking.  While during the week right now I am a CPA in Sacramento, my real life is lived on the weekends where I am currently interning with a shepherd and exploring other farming opportunities (i.e. pondering the possibilities of a dairy goat farm in the next several years).  I cook frequently, shopping in season at farmers markets and the locally owned co-op.  I love to try new food (and desserts!); I am constantly overwhelmed by all the dining possibilities in Sacramento and Placer counties. And giving care to loved ones, to offer my talents and time to them, is one gift that I receive ample returns on.
Please feel free to contact me if you would like to know more or have any thoughts you’d like to share on this journey of growth, farming, goats, food, restaurants, living simply, locally and wholly or anything else.  Thanks for visiting!

Hiking in my native land